Weighing in on Arvin Vohra

Well, here is the short skinny… He is the Vice Chairman of the Libertarian Party and has made some disparaging remarks about those of us that have served in the US Military. He has re-explained his comments, but has not sincerely apologized for his remarks.

Those of you who know me, realize that I will discuss actions and consequences over words. After watching a discussion between Austin Petersen and Larry Sharpe, last night, I gained more perspective on the matter. I admire both men greatly and respect their input. I was chomping at the bit to put in my “two cents” on the matter. I watched it streaming onto my TV via ChromeCast and kept pausing to talk at the wall about the matter. Finally, I regained my senses and started taking notes. The broadcast was far too brief.

After pouring through my notes, I think I have condensed them into some simple and coherent thoughts… which is always a dangerous preface.

To begin, I believe it is important to have context when a statement is made. Where you are, what position you hold, when you make comments, and finally why you are having to make a comment are all key considerations of context.

If Mr. Vohra made the comments at a private cocktail party, or as a person not holding an office, I don’t think his comments would have garnered as much…. if any attention. Unfortunately, this is not the case and has caused problems for the party now and possibly more problems down the line.

This could have been corrected, as pointed out by Larry Sharpe, with a heart-felt apology. But, none came and the window of opportunity has passed. His explanation was just that… and not a apology. Problem not corrected.

He will not correct our Party’s public relations problem, then we as a Party need to take immediate action. He must step down and be replaced. Also, we must issue an apology statement to all current and past military participants that may have been offended. If we do not do this, then we will be taking responsibility for this situation and cannot blame anything, nor anyone, else.

Our party’s logo animal is the porcupine and not the ostrich. This is not the tim to bury our heads in the sand and pretend it will fade away. Now is when we must toss our quills at a problem and get it solved. After that, we can all sit down and discuss our positions on the corrupt military industrial operations throughout the world.

If you disagree, or have additional comments, please feel free to share them with me!

Leave a Reply

